top of page

Chocolates & Sweets!

2 Mars 2023

“Confection or mixture of drugs from which a drink and even a remedy are made, which came to us from the Spanish who brought it from the Mexicans for whom the word chocolate signifies only confection… Its base or principal drug is cocoa, the fruit of the tree of the same name.”

Antoine Futetuere, Dictionnaire universel. 3 vols, La Haye and Rotterdam: Arnout and Reiner Leers, 1690. Reprint Paris: SNL-Le Robert, 1978. Vol.1. Translation K Hoffmann


This blog is dedicated to the decadent, rich sweets of Paris. I filled my week with different chocolate shops like Jacques Genin, Angelinas, and La Maison du Chocolat. Chocolate was first introduced to France in 1615 as a gift to the 14-year-old King Louis XIII from his 14-year-old wife to be – Anne of Austria. During those days, Chocolate was only for royalty, the nobility, and the bourgeoisie. Chocolate was considered to be exotic and known as an aphrodisiac and a “recreational drug” due to its calming yet stimulating effects. Due to its notion of being exotic, it was expensive and not accessible to all. Chocolate quickly became a strong influence throughout Europe and was often consumed by French Royalty. In the earlier days of consumption, it was prepared in liquid form, the cocoa paste mixed with water or milk and various species like chilies, cloves, vanilla, etc. Chocolate even became a delicacy and customary delight often enjoyed at the Palace of Versailles.

Chocolate was a symbol of status and wealth and was not introduced to the masses until the early 19th century when machines could produce them at a lower price. At this time it was still considered to be a medicinal product and was often labeled as a “tonic”. It is interesting to see the evolution of chocolate and the stronghold that it still has over Parisians. An interesting note that I have observed is how often chocolate is still utilized in my French household. Dark pieces of chocolate are frequently consumed with every cafe in the morning and are paired with a piece of buttered baguette known as a goûter in the afternoon, it is drizzled over fruit for dessert and is consumed at night with tea or tisan before bedtime.

A Patisserie on every corner. At home, I am not a huge fan of bread, cakes, or gluten in general. I had an entire cultural reset upon my arrival to Paris. Everywhere I go, the scent of fresh bread and baked goods linger in the air. My go-to Patisserie is a local mom and pops shop, not five minutes away by foot from my house. The lead baker began to recognize me from my first few visits and now gifts me a free sweet or lolli every time I walk in and gather my goodies. My favorites include: Tarte aux pomme, gâteau de lave au chocolat, tarte sablée à la fraise, and of course my patisseries signature Baklava.


hao_business_edited.png

Bonjour & aloha, thanks for stopping by!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page